Are you Ready for NaNoWriMo 2013?

Standard

For those who are counting down to the start of NaNoWriMo 2013, you must realize there are only two days left until the big month-long writing event kicks off! I have to ask you, what are you doing to get ready? Whether it’s outlining, mapping, or consulting a deck of tarot cards, we are all doing something to prepare ourselves for November 1rst (even if our efforts only consists of stocking up on toilet paper and Ramen noodles).

keepcalmnano

Personally, I’m creating a story outline with detailed notes on character development during each section of the story. I know it sounds like a lot of work but in the long run, I’ll be glad I took the extra time at the start. During my first NaNoWriMo, I winged the entire draft. Did it get me back into writing? Yes. Was the writing good? No. So, this year, I’m doing more pre-writing in advance to make sure that the words I put down are purposeful.

I’m also preparing my house for a full month of neglect. These preparations include mowing my yard, completing eight loads of laundry, buying paper plates and plastic forks, and stocking up on microwave meals. I did make sure to leave myself just enough busy work to occupy myself when I need a distraction from writing . . . more like an excuse.

For all you other wrimers out there, what are you doing to ready yourselves for the big day?

5 thoughts on “Are you Ready for NaNoWriMo 2013?

  1. Paula M.

    I’ve never participated in Nanowrimo before and just decided to do it out of whim. Is having nothing prepared dooming me for failure?

    • Oh no! My first Wrimo was on a whim. The edits have been . . . numerous . . . but I kept a lot of the original words, plus I wrote freely which is something I struggle with. Planning works best for me, but everyone is different. I’d stock up on toilet paper and canned foods though;)

Leave a Reply

