Challenge Accepted

Standard
determined-challenge-accepted-l

Image courtesy of alltheragefaces.com

After much consideration and encouragement from other reading enthusiasts in the blogosphere, I signed up for the popular Goodreads 2014 Reading Challenge. Hosted annually on goodreads.com, this event encourages readers to . . . well, read. What’s neat about this reading challenge is that participants get to set their own personal reading goals for the year and progress is tracked online.

 

2014 Challenge Statistics:

  • 266,282 Participants
  • 15,639,309 Total Books Pledged
  • 58 Average Books Per Challenge
  • 106 Challenges Completed

    reading challenge

    Image from goodreads.com

This year, being my first year, I pledged to read 30 books. Considering I work full-time and have a lot of obligations outside of work, including some pretty intense writing goals, I thought this a realistic goal. There are a lot of people online who have pledged to read 50 or more books, but it’s not a competition.

For my 30 books, I tried to include a variety of books including nonfiction, graphic novels, and young adult novels. I also tried to read from various genres including parody and mystery. On my list, I made sure to include a few of the classics.

So far, this is the list I have come up with:

1. The Riven Kingdom: Book 2 in the Godspeaker trilogy by Karen Miller (Fantasy)

2. Godhammer: Book 3 in the Godspeaker trilogy by Karen Miller (Fantasy)

3. The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien (High Fantasy)

4. Men at Arms by Terry Pratchett (Satire)

5. A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett (YA)

6. Sabriel by Garth Nix (YA)

7. Lireal by Garth Nix (YA)

8. The Abhorsen by Garth Nix (YA)

9. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien (High Fantasy)

10. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien (High Fantasy)

11. A Conspiracy of Decency: The Rescue of the Danish Jews During World War II by Emmy E. Werner (Historical fiction)

12. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens (Classic)

13. Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (Fantasy)

14. The Fault in our Stars by John Green (Fiction)

15. Elements of Fiction Writing: Conflict & Suspense by James Scott Bell (How-to-write)

16. Elements of Fiction Writing: Characters & Viewpoint by Orson Scott Card (How-to-write)

17. Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire (Fiction)

18. The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak (Popular fiction)

19. Nightlight: A Parody By the Harvard Lampoon (Parody)

20. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (YA)

21. World War Z by Max Brooks (Zombie fiction)

22. The Scarlett Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne (Classic)

23. A Broom of One’s Own: Essays on Housecleaning and Writing by Nancy Peacock (autobiography)

24. Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut (Humor/Satiric)

25. Bundori by Laura Joh Rowland (Mystery)

26. Innocent Mage by Karen Miller (Fantasy)

27. The Awakened Mage (Book 2 of Kingmaker Kingbreaker) (Fantasy)

28. Across the Nightingale Floor by Lian Hearn (Fiction)

29. Grass for his Pillow by Lian Hearn (Fiction)

30. Brilliance of the Moon by Lian Hearn (Fiction)

Of course, this list is subject to change, and I’m open to any suggestions. In fact, I love recommendations. Some of the best books I’ve read were referred to me by other readers.

So bring it on 2014! Goodreads 2014 Reading Challenge–challenge accepted!

13 thoughts on “Challenge Accepted

  1. You are all so ambitious. I hope you can do it. That would be awesome to read 20-50 books. I have chosen six books. That gives me two months a piece to finish them. I’m not a slow reader, I just don’t have a lot of time. I hope to go up to ten or twenty next year. fingers crossed

  2. This is awesome. I should probably do the same– my reading has suffered as of late. I’ve read a few of those on your list but definitely not all. It seems like a good mix of genres so you won’t get burned out!

Leave a Reply

