Camp NaNoWriMo: A Go or a No Go?

Standard

So, after spending the past 2 weeks sick in bed, needless to say, I’m behind on my edits. The original goal was to submit all of my chapters to my editor and have them back by the end of March, giving me time to make the final corrections by the end of April. I can still make that goal but only if I buckle down hard.

A friend of mine asked me if I was going to be participating in Camp NaNoWriMo again this year. For those of you who don’t know, Camp NaNoWriMo is a more flexible version of the original November event. It occurs twice during the summer months, giving writers two opportunities to participate. This year, it’s being offered in April and July.

Usually, I like to participate in both sessions, but considering how behind I am with my editing goals (not to mention I have not posted my March book review yet;) I have doubts on whether or not I should participate.

What do you think? Am I biting off more than I can chew? Or would it be a good way for me to jump back into writing after so much time off?

campnanowrimo

Image provided by campnanowrimo.org

8 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: A Go or a No Go?

  1. Do you have a deadline with the edits? If yes, then I think that should be your main focus. Or maybe you can still do Camp but with a lower word count goal? This will be my first time to try Camp NaNoWriMo and I think it’s great that it allows for some flexibility. Good luck with whatever you decide. 🙂

    • Good point. I was considering maybe just aiming for a lower word goal. I love Camp NaNoWriMo so I am reluctant not to participate. One of the things I like about it is that you get to set your own word goal. The 50k that NaNoWriMo requires can be a little crazy.

      Good luck! Maybe I’ll see you on the forums!

      • I agree on the NaNoWriMo goal although I’ve set my Camp goal at 50k for now. I guess I’m a glutton for punishment LOL. My user name there is maggie_hk if you wanna be writing buddies or something. Good luck with whatever you decide for April!

  2. if you are writing a different project, I’d say small goal or skip it. We need to get your edits done and wrap up this first project. But no, I agree, it’s hard to sit out, especially since this is a great way to connect with other writers.

Leave a Reply

