A Review of Lois Lowry’s The Giver & How it Compares to Divergent and Hunger Games

Standard

Considering the popularity of YA series Divergence and Hunger Games, I thought it would be fun to review a novel, I feel, does the dystopian universe so much better, The Giver.

dystopia

What makes the dystopian society so popular with young readers? Why is dystopia so popular today?

Published many, many, many years before either Divergence or Hunger Games, The Giver, by Lois Lowry, tells the story of a boy, Jonas, who lives in a society apart from the rest of the world. In this society, there are strict rules regarding behavior, ceremonies for every milestone, and one man who alone bares the memories and pain they cannot know–the Giver.

When Jonas is selected to become the next giver, he is unaware of the responsibility of knowing colors, temperatures, and emotions. Through his lessons, he realizes how dangerous his society really is and eventually makes his escape.

The_Giver_Cover

Original cover design for Lois Lowry’s novel (published 1993)

This novel is usually taught to middle school-aged children because of the reading level and themes. Even with the delicate writing, some of the themes can be heavy. The author masterfully tackles difficult subjects such as infanticide, sexuality, and death. She also does an amazing job creating a believable dystopian society.

For me, the newer novels did not execute this as well. Don’t get me wrong, I like both novels. They are creative and fun to read; however, the authors fail to properly create believable universes. In order to read both novels, I had to swallow what little background information the authors provided. I know these are character-driven stories, but set-up is still essential to a good novel.

There is also the subject of theme. After reading both novels, I had no idea what I was supposed to gain by reading these novels other than entertainment. What were they trying to say about society? Were they trying to say anything at all? Honestly, I didn’t feel like they did, which is a shame, since these books are geared to older audiences, they could have said a lot.

Overall, I prefer Lois Lowry’s alternative society to the latter’s dystopian universes. She just nailed it; whereas the others fail to fully utilize their playground. Again, not trying to put down the newer novels, but when compared to their predecessor, they just don’t hold up.

My advice: read them all! Seriously. Then, go watch the movies. Even The Giver has a movie adaptation coming out soon, though I strongly encourage you to read the book first as I assume the movie will not do it justice.

I hope you enjoyed April’s book review. In May, I’ll be reviewing something humorous.

 

9 thoughts on “A Review of Lois Lowry’s The Giver & How it Compares to Divergent and Hunger Games

  1. I really didn’t like The Giver, you can see my review on my blog. I hate the infanticide, it was really creepy and uncomfortable to read. Check it out, thesleepybooknerd.wordpress.com. if you can’t find it just type it in in my search box.

  2. My fourth grade teacher gave it to me and I loved it! I read it again in college – again, loved it! Read it at 30 – and once again loved it. I think the book is completely timeless and classic, and I agree that the newer dystopian novels can’t hold a candle to it (although I loved the Hunger Games as well, I don’t really see my self re-reading them over and over and finding the same love each time)

    • My feelings exactly! I remember reading it in middle school and being blown away. Hunger Games was good but it didn’t inspire that “awe” that Lois Lowery’s novel did. I was so grieved to hear that the students I work with were not familiar with it. That’s probably why they can read Divergent. LOL

Leave a Reply

