Congratulations! It’s a Boy: From Childfree Writer to Full-time Auntie Overnight

Standard
typing kid

Kids and writing: How do you find balance?

I suppose some of you have been wondering where I’ve been the last couple of months. From the title of this blog you might have guessed the situation. My nephew (and his mom) have come to live with me. Overnight, I went from being a childfree writer to full-time caregiver. (granted, my sister does most of the work) Am I complaining? No. But it’s definitely a transition.

For those of you who, like my sister, have been juggling a family and writing career for years, go ahead and roll your eyes. Go ahead. Get it over with. There. Didn’t that feel good? It’s okay. I don’t blame you.

keep calm

My new mantra.

I never thought raising a child while writing was easy, (Hence why I opted not to have children) but I was not prepared for the amount of energy and time that goes into living with a child, that or the sleep deprivation. I’m so tired! More so, I wasn’t prepared for the impact it would have on my writing. Aside from losing time to write, I’m losing energy. By the time the kiddo hits the hay, I’m ready to as well. So much for late night writing. Then there is the noise. Children are noisy. Especially little boys. Everything crashes and explodes. Even stuffed animals! So, for a writer who is used to writing in silent solitary, this is definitely an adjustment.

All griping aside, I love my nephew and I enjoy having him stay with me. We have fun playing castle and watching movies. He reads with me and even naps with me. He’s my favorite little guy. The writer in me is just going to have to adjust.

Many successful authors are also parents and/or full-time caregivers. Heck, many of us hold full-time jobs. So let me ask those of you who have been juggling these balls longer: how do you find balance?

4 thoughts on “Congratulations! It’s a Boy: From Childfree Writer to Full-time Auntie Overnight

  1. Well, it’s easier to start adjusting when they are babies, but you don’t have that luxury. Because kids are noisy, the best thing you can do is let him be noisy when you are not writing and tell him that writing time is Auntie time. During Auntie time, he has to play quiet or read. At least you had the wisdom of downloading angry birds, although, I prefer educational games. I also give him snacks while I write to keep him entertained, or put in a movie. I like for writing time to be a positive time for him too so he won’t learn to resent it. children like to be involved with your passions, so the more you tell him about it, the more he’ll understand why you need it quiet. It helps when they learn to read, because writing time can become reading time.

  2. I agree with your sister. You share that part of your life with them, and they are usually more open to letting you have your quiet time when you need it for that. However, it’s always a huge adjustment, and not every day goes as planned. The hardest thing about being a writer/editor and becoming a mom for me was simply learning to multitask and to deal with the fact that I’ll only be able to get 10 minutes of work done at a time. And that I’d get much less sleep than what I was used to. But I do what I can. I write. I stop and take care of the little one. I do some more. I stop again. Rather than being frustrated about it, if you embrace the changes that come with being a parent or simply having kids in the house while being a writer, you’ll find you often get a lot more done. And nap time is amazing. It’s the quietest the house is the entire day and also my most productive time. Once my world is turned upside down again in a few weeks with the next little one, I know it’ll be a challenging learning process again. But it all balances out in the end. It just takes time and extra patience.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

