June’s Featured Author: Shannon A. Thompson

Standard

It’s June, and as promised, I’m featuring an author for the month, one who has been very patient and understanding about the delay. You may already know her name and/or her popular book series, but just in case you don’t, I’m going to make sure you do. So, for June, I’m featuring Shannon A. Thompson, author of the popular Timely Death Trilogy and the soon to be released novel Take Me Tomorrow.

shannon 1

Meet Shannon A. Thompson: author, avid reader, and coffee junkie.

Shannon A. Thompson is an author, avid reader, and coffee junkie. At 16 she published her first YA dystopian novel, November Snow. In 2012, she was featured in a poetry collection, and in 2013, she signed The Timely Death Trilogy with AEC Stellar Publishing, Inc. Her latest novel, Take Me Tomorrow is available on July 14, 2014. 

Aside from writing, Shannon graduated from the University of Kansas with a bachelor’s degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing. She also works as a C.O.O. for her publisher.

Shannon prides herself in her fantastic family, including a black cat named Bogart. You will often see pictures of him on her social media sites. Mostly, Shannon credits her late mother with instilling in her a love of reading and writing. She is also a lover of naps, Elvis Presley, and the Green Bay Packers.

On with the interview!!!!!!

Lit Chic: You published your first work at 16! Tell me, what inspired you to start a career in writing?

Shannon A. Thompson: When I was little, I enjoyed writing, but I didn’t take it seriously until I was 11. My mother – who was my biggest influence – died very suddenly, and I knew right at that moment that I wanted to spend the rest of my life doing what I love. I didn’t want to wait until I was forty, because I realized that forty might never come. Sort of morbid, yes, but following my dream has been the most positive experience of my life.

Lit Chic: Tell me about The Timely Death Trilogy. How did it come to life?

shannon 2

Check out Minutes Before Sunset & Seconds before Sunrise, the first novels in the Timely Death Trilogy.

Shannon A. Thompson: The trilogy actually began as a series of dreams that I struggled to accept as dreams. They were so realistic, I had to create a story to express my emotions with it all. Looking back on it, I was going through a really dark time in my life, and I believe my mind created the dreams to protect me, but there’s a bigger explanation as well as an excerpt from my actual diary during the years that I started writing this trilogy on my blog Shannon A. Thompson.

Lit Chic: Who is your favorite character in The Timely Death Trilogy? Why?

Shannon A. Thompson: If I had to pick one to be friends with, I would love to meet Pierce. I think he’s hilarious and charming, but – unfortunately – readers don’t get to see everything he wants to say. I am glad he has a bigger role in Seconds Before Sunrise, but his role gets even more vital in Death Before Daylight (book 3.) He might be my favorite because I’m both of my protagonists when I’m writing, and Pierce is Eric’s best friend. In many ways, Pierce became my best friend.

Lit Chic: You’ve written so many books already, and I imagine you have more to come. Where does your inspiration come from?

Shannon A. Thompson: I do have more to come from! Most of my novels are inspired by dreams, but I am inspired by the world around me. I always joke that I’m sort of an “airhead” but my focus shifts because I saw or heard something that inspired me, and that happens often.

Lit Chic: Your novels have become extremely popular. What do you think makes you a successful author?

Shannon A. Thompson: Ultimately, my readers make me successful, but I think it helps that I talk to my readers on a regular basis. I want to know what they thought of my books, but I also want to know them.

Lit Chic: What is the best and worst part of being a writer?

Shannon A. Thompson: Best: doing what I love every day, knowing that you are living your dream. Worst: accepting that you won’t get everyone’s encouragement, especially from people you care about, but that you must trust your heart and march forward anyway

Lit Chic: Some writers are coffee junkies, others have a favorite pen: what is something you can’t write without?

Shannon A. Thompson: I am a coffee junkie, and I have an usual love for G-2 black pens, so you already hit two of mine. My laptop is the main thing I can’t write without. Her name is Weebo. I also love my printer, Jaws, and my desk lamp, Blackie. My notebooks come next, and…I am going to stop now before I ramble forever.

Lit Chic: Please tell me more about your role as a C.O.O for your publisher.

Shannon A. Thompson: Sure thing! I started off as an author. After helping out, my publisher asked me to also become an employee as a Social Media Marketing Manager. After working with that title for a while, I was recently upgraded to C.O.O. My fellow AEC author, Ryan Attard, always jokes that I am the Cognitive Operations Overlord – that basically means that I am behind the scenes, handling contracts, launches, and other aspects of a novel’s release. It’s one of the many reasons that I am constantly on my email.

Lit Chic: You obviously have a great grasp on social media and marketing. Any advice for aspiring authors in building their writer’s platforms?

Shannon A. Thompson: Find the one you love. If you don’t love it, it might come through in your words, but if you love it, your followers will feel it, and that love is vital to finding a successful niche for both your writing and your readers.

Lit Chic: Any other advice you’d like to give for aspiring authors?

Shannon A. Thompson: Write with passion; succeed with self-discipline. This is my personal mantra, but it ultimately summarizes how your love for writing will be what pushes you forward. Don’t give up on your dream due to criticism. Always move forward with positivity and passion. Nothing can stop you if you do.

Lit Chic: Is there any information you’d like to provide about upcoming projects, publications, or future events that you’d like to promote?

Shannon A. Thompson:.I have a lot of future events coming! One of my poems is getting published in a magazine, and I will announce my next book soon. Check out my events page.

You can learn more about the author on her website. Connect with her on Facebook and don’t forget to check out her books on Amazon.

I hope you enjoyed June’s featured author. From now on, featured authors will be featured on the first Friday of each month. If you or someone you know would like to be featured on my blog, please contact me at kyliebetzner@gmail.com or message me on twitter @kbbetzner.

7 thoughts on “June’s Featured Author: Shannon A. Thompson

Leave a Reply

