My Novel’s Current Status: Under Construction (Beep Beep Beep)

Standard

It’s Labor Day, and I, like many of my fellow Americans, have the day off. However, while most Americans will be spending the day at BBQs eating pulled pork and Jell-O desserts with whipped topping, I will be spending the day working on my novel. With everything going on: my crazy work schedule, my sister’s move, and my mother’s illness, I still plan on releasing it early this spring, probably January or February. March at the latest. In order to meet that deadline, I am going to have to take advantage of every spare minute of the day. So, when an entire day opens up, like Labor Day, I aim to make the most of it.

wip-1

My novel is under construction. Watch your step! Don’t fall into a plot hole!

The novel is currently under construction, which means it’s in the editing process. Most of the work is done. The structure is secure, and it’s got a good foundation. The walls are built, the drywall’s up, and there’s plenty of insulation. The roof is done, give or take a few shingles out of place. Mostly it’s just aesthetics. The walls need painted. Curtains need hung. And some of the flooring might need to be redone. I don’t know what I was thinking when I picked out that tile. Yikes!

What does that translate to in writing terms? There are a few inconsistencies, minor tweaks, and some grammar left to fix. The book cover is also being worked on as I speak–er–type. I also need to tweak the blurb and my author bio. Then there is page layout . . .

With so many writers on WordPress today, I assume I’m not alone; in fact, I know I’m not alone. I know many of you who are reading my blog are also spending your day off working on your novel. To you I say, best of luck, go get ’em, (whatever that means) and have fun! Most importantly, enjoy your time off writing! I know I will. And to everyone else, have a happy Labor Day!

One thought on “My Novel’s Current Status: Under Construction (Beep Beep Beep)

Leave a Reply

