Brace Yourself Halloween is Coming!

Standard

Brace yourself Halloween is coming! I know, I know. It’s only September, but Halloween will be here before we know it, and for those of us planning on dressing up for the holiday, it’s never too early to start thinking about costumes.

costumes2

Slutty pirate, slutty cop, slutty rag doll, slutty referee, and slutty solider . . . aren’t there any costumes for women that aren’t slutty?

This year, my sister and I were thinking about going as generic forest elves with bows and leathers and whatnot. This would be a pretty cheap costume since most of the accessories can be found online or at party stores. I already have the boots. But part of me wants to go as Tauriel from the Hobbit trilogy. They sell her costume complete with wig online. It would be a little more costly though, but I could reuse the costume for cosplay at conventions. So, it would be worth the extra bucks. Maybe I could go as one of my own characters. Hmm. Decisions, decisions.

To all of my writer friends, let me ask you, have you ever considered dressing up for Halloween as one of your own characters? Honestly, I think that’s a fun idea, plus, it might be a creative way to market your book. Think about it. You’re at a party and someone thinks your costume is really cool. They ask who you’re supposed to be. Here’s a natural opening to discuss your writing. If nothing else, it would be fun.

What do you think? Good idea? Bad idea? Fun idea? Lame idea? Please share your thoughts and opinions in the comments below. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Brace Yourself Halloween is Coming!

  1. Jon

    I would love to dress up as one of my characters, but I have to say I have not written them very awesome costumes. Aiella does have a stunning green ball-gown she wore once, but I don’t think it would go with my eyes.

  2. I wish costumes weren’t so slutty. I’m having a hard time finding a costume. I think dressing up as a character is a great marketing idea. Whenever someone complimented your costume, you could tell them about your book.

Leave a Reply

