Life Has a Sick Sense of Humor and Why I Write Comedic Fantasy

Standard
imagesCA0LCJJ7

Sometimes, the universe just points its finger at you and says, “ha ha!”

It’s no secret, life is hard, and sometimes it seems as though the cosmos is laughing at our struggles. I, personally, feel like I’ve become the butt of some cosmic joke. My mom was recently diagnosed with cancer, and the prognosis isn’t good at all. To say life’s been hard is an understatement. Not to mention my sister and I are still settling in to our new home situation. Then there’s the craziness at work, not to mention my novel’s impending deadline . . . it’s enough to send me over the deep end!

Several of my writing friends have suggested I hold off my novel’s debut, which is probably good advice, but writing seems to be the only thing keeping me sane right now, that and a bottle of roscato. Haha! Writing provides a means of escape (better than the glass of roscato) and a sense of control. I can’t change my mom’s prognosis and I can’t force my home and work situations to improve overnight, but I can make progress on my book. And right now, that’s exactly what I need. That and a good laugh.

Which leads me to the point. Why I write comic fantasy. I like to laugh, and more so, I like to make others laugh. As a reader, I’ve always enjoyed epic fantasy. The worlds, the creatures, the magic, all inspired me to write fantasy, but as a writer, I could never master the tone of that genre. I still wanted the magic but without all of the drama. Then a friend of mine introduced me to parody. After reading a few books she suggested, I was hooked. I had found my genre, and my writing has flourished. Now, I write comic fantasy. My books are humorous, creative, and more often than not, entertaining. As a writer of comic fantasy, I take advantage of imaginary characters and worlds to parody other works of fantasy while satirizing current cultural issues, making them the most relevant and irrelevant stories ever told! My goal is to write a series of novels that makes readers happier and smarter at the same time.

In the infamous words of Forest Gump, “That’s all I have to say about that.” Hopefully, you enjoyed this post and learned a little bit about me. Thank you for stopping by:)

9 thoughts on “Life Has a Sick Sense of Humor and Why I Write Comedic Fantasy

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your mom. That’s rough. I’m glad you’re at least able to write to keep sane. I like stories that make me laugh, and I’m looking forward to reading your book when it comes out. Hang in there.

  2. Good for you girl! Sorry about your mum, that’s hard. As for writing, humour is the hardest thing to write, if you can make someone laugh with your words, then you can write anything, keep at it and go with what makes you feel good.

  3. Sorry to hear about your Mother, that is such a horrible thing for your family to go through.
    I love comedy and fantasy and I am very enticed by the thought of both of them together. Good luck with your debut.

  4. Someone may have touched on this already, but would you roast your mirepoix for a white turkey stock? If so, would you still add them with an hour to go, or should it be lesn?Thasks!

Leave a Reply

