Gearing Up for Kokomo-Con 2014!

Standard
kokomo con 2014

Official logo of Kokomo-Con 2014

19 days and counting down until this year’s Kokomo-Con. I know what you’re thinking: Kokomo-Con? What’s that? I’ve never heard of Kokomo-Con. Well, unless you live near Central Indiana, you probably have not heard of this slowly growing nerd convention. It’s like Gen-Con but smaller . . . a lot smaller. In the upcoming years, I’m hoping to see it grow. I see promise in this event.

1383646_10102967469658948_1895957187_n

Let’s just say this Storm Trooper’s wife was not very happy . . .

Last year, I attended with my nephew just to check it out as a potential marketing venue for my upcoming novel. What I found were a lot of booths with guys trying to sell vintage Star Wars collectables and Walking Dead memorabilia. Among them, dotted here and there, were some authors and artists, as well. Those were my favorite booths, as I got a chance to meet these artists face-to-face and inquire on their careers. It was unclear whether or not they viewed this event as a worthwhile marketing venue, but it was clear they enjoyed the convention.

Adventure time!

More so, I enjoyed the costumes. There were so many cool costumes, and everyone was so eager to have their picture taken (with a hot blonde mind you. Haha!) I had so much taking pictures with all of the cosplayers and introducing my nephew to my nerdum . . . I don’t know if he’s been changed for the better . . . but hopefully his life’s dream of becoming a Storm Trooper can be one day be fulfilled.

Anyway, this year the event promises to be better than last year with special guests Denny O’Neil, Rafael Nieves, Dan Dougherty, Matt Hansel, and Dave Aikins, to name a few. Solution Squad, Unshaven Comics, Highwind Steamworks and other companies/groups will also be present for the event. I’m looking forward to visiting their booths and seeing all of the great costumes. Speaking of costumes . . .

imagesCARA3RA3

No, not that kind of elf . . .

My sister and I are dressing up this year as Tauriel and Thranuil from The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. For squees, my nephew is going as child Legolas. My friend, Sarah, will be joining us, even though her costume will be Star Trek themed (traitor). In preparation for the event, my sister and I have ordered hand-made elf ears, custom-made costumes, and wigs. My sister is even making her own crown out of wire, hot glue, and fake leaves. So far, it’s looking pretty good.

With everything going wrong in my life right now, this is something I’m really looking forward to, so I hope it’s not a bust. With my family and friends going with me, I’m sure it won’t be . . . even if all of the costume parts don’t come in on time. (I’m sure we can wing it).

For those of you who are looking for an interesting event to attend or your first comic-con experience, consider the Kokomo-Con. It won’t disappoint, and maybe I’ll see you there!

4 thoughts on “Gearing Up for Kokomo-Con 2014!

  1. It sounds like a lot of fun! My brother and I actually went to Gen-Con some twenty years ago, he for the gaming and me for the fantasy art show and the TSR writing critiques they were doing that year. We had a blast. I’m afraid it will be awhile before I’m out in the Midwest again. Hope you all have a great time!

    • Thank you, Lori! I am hoping to get around to some of the bigger ones this year too. It’s been on my bucket list and with my mom’s illness, I’ve rethought my “I’ll do it later” mentality. This year is going to be the year I get stuff done, darn it. Gen-Con, Kokomo-Con, and publishing that book are on the top of the list:)

Leave a Reply

