In Defense of Tauriel

Standard

“I feel it in the water. I feel it in the earth. I smell it in the air”–Galadriel, Fellowship of the Rings. I am, of course, referring to the excitement and anticipation surrounding the fast-approaching release of the third and final part of the Hobbit trilogy, The Battle of the Five Armies. With this excitement also comes a lot of anxiety for myself and many fans of the film franchise, mostly concerning who will die. Okay, for those who read the books (or who remember what they read) they already know. But no one, not even the greatest Tolkien fans, knows the fate of Tauriel.

tauriel

Even though she’s wearing red and green, Tauriel is not your typical holiday elf.

Who is that? Hardcore Tolkien fans may ask, flipping feverishly through their dog-eared copy of the book in search of this unfamiliar name. Well, for those who do not know, Tauriel is an original character created by Peter Jackson and his wife Fran Walsh for the second and third movie. She is captain of the Woodland guard and a kick-butt fighter, as well. Tauriel does not appear in the original works, nor does she appear in the first film. She makes her debut in the second film alongside Legolas . . . who is also not supposed to be in the film, but who’s complaining? Not me, at least. Love me some Orlando Bloom!

I, for one, enjoyed the addition of the kick-butt she-elf, but I know there are many who don’t share my sentiment who would happily see her die. Since her character was revealed there has been a lot of disagreement as to whether or not she has helped or hurt the films. Tolkien purist, in particular, have not approved her addition, arguing that she was never mentioned in the books and therefore doesn’t belong in the films. However, actress Evangeline Lilly, who plays the role of Tauriel, states that the adaptation was justified because “Tolkien refers to the Woodland Elves, he just doesn’t talk about who they are specifically.” The actress is actually a fan of Tolkien and has read his works. For the role, she learned to fight as well as speak Elvish, enjoying it. I am not familiar with her performance in LOST but I was impressed that she is not a stranger to working in male-dominated casts.

Some lingering concerns about the character . . . the forced-Peje romance between her and Fili. Seriously, it was so poorly pulled-off, and I doubt its going to get any better in the next film.

She’s definitely not an elvish princess.

Still, I’m actually looking forward to seeing more of her character in the final film for the simple fact that she is an Elf and I can’t get enough of that race. Also, a strong female character doesn’t hurt the films any. Come on, at least she’s a fighter and not another Elvish princess. It could have been worse. Just saying.

Regardless, I’m really looking forward to the last film, even though I’m pretty sure her character is going to die. While many Tolkien fans may celebrate, a part of me is going to be sad to see her go.

Well, that’s all I have to say about that. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below. As always, thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “In Defense of Tauriel

Leave a Reply

