Connecting at Kokomo-Con 2014

Standard

I know you’re all probably sick and tired of hearing about Kokomo-Con, but I wanted to share a little from my experience last Saturday. As a writer and as a nerd, I gained so much from attending the event.

group

Connecting with Carrie at Kokomo-Con 2014!

To be honest, one of the main reasons we went was to examine the event’s potential as a marketing venue for future book sales. Kokomo-Con attracts many local artists and writers who are interested in connecting with potential readers, and since my friends and I write fantasy, we considered this a great opportunity. After perusing the booths, and speaking with the vendors, we verified that it would be a viable marketing opportunity, that and a lot of fun. None of us are published yet, so my sister and I, along with my 6-year-old nephew, went to the event dressed as our favorite characters from Peter Jackson’s rendition of The Hobbit. I went as Tauriel, of course, and my sister dressed up as Thranduil. Rylee made the cutest little Legolas ever!

taur7

Things got a little bit . . . harry

Business aside, the event was enjoyable. There were great costumes, vendors, and show cases worth seeing. There was even a gaming room open to the public.The other cosplayers were absolutely amazing! There was even a guy dressed up as Frankenberry . . . not that I got his costume. My favorites were the 501 Storm Troopers who attend the event every year. This year, they brought Darth Vader along. We took over 100 pictures, I’m not even joking.

rylee2

I think it’s safe to say I’ve created a little nerd;)

One of the highlights, besides winning the group costume contest, was exposing my nephew to the amazing world of nerdom and fostering his love of sci-fi and fantasy. I think it’s safe to say I’ve created a little nerd;) Mission accomplished, Auntie. More importantly, we did something special as a family, something he’s really into now. Probably going to have to do this again next year, and the year after that, and the year after that . . . well, you get the picture.

All in all, It was a great event, and we’re definitely going to do this again on the account that it’s Rylee’s new favorite event right after Halloween and Christmas. Haha. So, if you’re near the Kokomo area this time next year, check it out. Who knows, maybe I’ll see you there . . . though I’ll probably be dressed as someone else. New cosplay ideas, anyone?

Thanks for stopping by. If you’d like to see more pictures from Kokomo-Con 2014 check out my Twitter page @kbbetzner.

Leave a Reply

