Why I’m Particpating in NaNoWriMo 2014

Gallery

November is a crazy-busy month. It’s the last decent month before winter (Brace yourself winter is coming) and its between the two biggest holidays (sorry Thanksgiving). So, why would we choose to add more crazy to this month by participating in NaNoWriMo? Is it because writers are crazy? What is it that motivates us to join this event each year? For some writers, it’s breaking writer’s block. For others, it’s connecting with other writers. For me, personally, it’s about personal growth.

keepcalmnano

My mantra for the month of November

With everything going on in my life right now: transitions at work, family illness, etc., etc., etc., I’ve had a difficult time staying motivated and keeping a writing schedule. To say I’ve kept a writing schedule would be a gross exaggeration of my efforts to just sit down and write. In the last four weeks, I have written maybe 3,000 words tops! I figured participating in NaNoWriMo would help get me back into a serious writing routine, and if nothing else, it would give me the push I need to finish this rough draft. At the very least, it’s a break from editing. I’m so burned out on editing. Haha!

I’m hoping by taking part in this event I will reignite my creative spark and rekindle my love of writing. I know it’s not an easy fix, but sometimes you just need a hard push to get you back on track. Please wish me luck, and if you’re looking for a writing buddy on the site, look me up at kbbetzner. I’m always willing to cheer on others. We’re in this together, not only during the month of November, but all year-long!

7 thoughts on “Why I’m Particpating in NaNoWriMo 2014

Leave a Reply

