Flashback on 2014–the Best and Worst Year Ever! And Why 2015 Is Going to Rock!

Standard

It’s New Year’s Eve, and sometime around midngiht tonight their going to drop a giant ball in Time Square while some old dude named Father Time versus some baby named New Year for the ultimate championship! Of course, it’s no big secret Baby New Year always wins, because we’ve never repeated a year to date. And of all the years I’d hate to repeat, it would be 2014. Why? Because it was the worst year ever. It was also the best year ever. Wait, what?

Screen-Shot-2014-01-06-at-6_47_50-AM

Wait, what?

What sucked/rocked about 2014

Sucked: My mom’s cancer diagnosis. That totally sucked. Never in my worst dreams did I imagine my mom becoming terminally ill with a disease so horrible. I planned my entire life with her in it, so this was a huge bummer to say the least.

Rocked: Experiencing personal growth because of my mother’s illness. Rather than mope and feel sorry for ourselves, we (my mom, my sister, and me) all made a pact to stay positive and make the most of our time together. Because of this, and the support of doctors and nurses at St. Joseph, my mother is doing better than expected. It’s more than I could have hoped for at the start. I no longer take time or people for granted. We make time every week to be a family. And I no longer underestimate the power of positivity and the compassion of total strangers. I’m not happy my mom has cancer but I’m grateful in the lessons I’ve been able to take away from it.

Sucked: My financial situation. Even with my sister’s monthly contributions, I’m barely making ends meet. Two women working full-time should not struggle to support a household, that’s all I’m saying.

Rocked: My sister and I joining forces financially was probably the best decision we’ve made in the last five years. Even though we’re not set yet, we have a plan and the resources to make it happen, not this year, but one day.

u1SZp

Yes, I still pay my bills, because a Lannister always pays his debts

Sucked: Work. Enough said. It’s not that I don’t like my job. I love what I do for a living. It’s very rewarding, but we’ve had so much turnover and discontent among coworkers, it’s hard to stay motivated.

Rocked: This year, I was nationally recognized for my hard work and was awarded the High Performer Award. It’s not often this company recognizes their talent, so I milked this achievement for all it’s worth!

Sucked: Car problems. After 6 years of unreliable service, my Blazer finally kicked the bucket.

Rocked: Getting a new-used car!

Sucked: My sister moving in. Not her–the move itself was stressful.

Rocked: My sister moving in with me. It’s like a slumber party everyday . . . pizza boxes and red solo cups everywhere.

photo

Party rockers in the house tonight!

Sucked: Rewriting the second half of my WIP.

Rocked: Completing the edits on my WIP. After 3 years of painstaking effort, blood, sweat, and tears, the book is finally ready to be published!

imagesCA3UKCIP

It’s finally finished!

Sucked: Not being able to attend GenCon 2014 and meet Lee Pace:(

Rocked: Attending KokomoCon 2014! I’m sure you’re all sick and tired of hearing about my first cosplay, but this was definitely one of the highlights of the year for me

taur4 (2)

Who won best costume? This girl, right here!

Why 2015 is going to rock! (In no particular order)

  1. I’m publishing my first novel! (January 30th)
  2. I’m paying off my car loan
  3. My mom is still alive and kicking!
  4. I’m paying off my credit card debt
  5. I’m starting the new year with a new WWIP!
  6. KokomoCon 2015!
  7. #BBOFA comes out in blue-ray and DVD:)
  8. Getting to spend more time with my friends, family, followers, and fans!

That’s all for now! I want to thank all of the bloggers, authors, writers, and overall awesome people here in the blogosphere who have supported me during all of this craziness! Have a Happy New Year!

21 thoughts on “Flashback on 2014–the Best and Worst Year Ever! And Why 2015 Is Going to Rock!

  1. Jon

    Hell of a year. In every sense of the phrase. Best wishes for 2015, especially to your Mom. If she’s anything like her daughters, she rocks.

    • Thank you! That’s why I did the sucked/rocked categories, because with everything going bad this year, there was an equal of things that went really well.

      I am totally confident 2015 is going to be a great year!

      Have a great new year, too, Carrie!

  2. This year HAS to be better than last year. And last year wasn’t a total loss. Like you said, Kokomo con, finishing a book, and living with your sis rocks. Here’s hoping 2015 will be awesome.

  3. I really am glad I met you and your sister this year. Reading what you have gone through this year makes me so proud of you! Life is filled with suckage and rockage! It’s all a matter of perspective. I am sorry about your mother’s diagnosis but if she is anything like you, she will kick its butt. Together the three of you can’t be defeated! 🙂 2014 has sucked for a lot of people and 2015 will be the best year… that’s a promise. 🙂 Shine on and keep smiling! The world is waiting to see what you’ll do next! *hugs*

    • Oh, my gosh, I am so glad I met you too, this year! Making new friends on WordPress and Twitter has been one of the highlights of the year, and something I’m looking forward to in 2015.

      Your message about made me cry. **wipes tears** You are the sweetest person.

      2015 is going to rock! Have a great New Year’s and I’ll see you in 2015!

Leave a Reply

