Writer’s Resource: “Why Does My Book Not Sell? 20 Simple Fixes” by Rayne Hall

Standard

My advice to aspiring authors: Aim to become the best writer you can possibly be. Writing craft skills matter more than any other factor. -Author Rayne Hall

71V+XAmii0L__UX250_

Author Rayne Hall

Rayne Hall has published more than fifty books in several languages under several pen names with several publishers in several genres, mostly fantasy, horror and non-fiction. (Are you seeing a trend here?) She is the author of the bestselling Writer’s Craft series and editor of the Ten Tales anthologies. She is a trained publishing manager, holds a masters degree in Creative Writing, and has worked in the publishing industry for over thirty years. To put it short, she’s a woman who knows her stuff.

Many of us affiliate her with her partner-in-crime, a black rescue cat named Sulu, who she features in many of her Twitter posts. To say he’s photogenic is an understatement. He enjoys reading and hamming it up for the camera.

46f0a42ba49efd734341d2cb02ff479e

The infamous Sulu Cat. Who says black cats bring bad luck? Not Rayne Hall, anyway

I’ve been following Rayne Hall on Twitter for over a year now and have always enjoyed her tweets on writer’s craft and social media and whatnot. I find her very helpful, and she’s even been kind enough to answer a few questions for me via direct message. So when she sought out readers for honest reviews, I jumped at the opportunity to get my paws on one of her books. I selected her title “Why Does My Book Not Sell? 20 Simple Fixes” from her writer’s craft series.

51d0lGjGE2L__UY250_

Part of the Writer’s Craft series. Check them out!

To say it was helpful would be an understatement. Right after Kristen Lamb’s “Rise of the Machines: Human Authors in a Digital World,” Rayne Hall’s is the most descriptive and practical advice. Split into 20 chapters, her book reviews the many blocks that hinder your book sales. They range from book cover to how you interact with your followers on Twitter.

Her down to earth no-nonsense advice is drawn from her own experience. I appreciate that she admits where she’s erred. It makes her more human and relatable. It’s refreshing taking advice from a human rather than a “social media guru” for a change.

I’d say this particular book is most suitable for published Indie writers, but I don’t see why new authors or aspiring authors could not benefit from a few precautionary tales.

Overall, I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, and I strongly recommend it to any author who is trying to better engage with readers on social media and see an increase in sales as a result. I’m not sure if it has worked for me yet, but it has prevented me from making a lot of mistakes already.

Check it out on amazon. And for more advice, follow her on Twitter @RayneHall.

Hopefully, you find this resource helpful. If you’re not sure, check it out on Amazon. Read the reviews and see for yourself if you think this book would benefit you. Personally, I’m adding it to my list of author’s resources.

Do you have any other titles in mind? Any recommendations? Feel free to share them in the comment section below. Eventually, I’m going to compile a list of resources to share with my followers, so the more the better. As always, thank you for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Writer’s Resource: “Why Does My Book Not Sell? 20 Simple Fixes” by Rayne Hall

Leave a Reply

