Life Needs More Velociraptor Riding a Shark While Firing a Machine Gun and Holding a Lit Stick of Dynamite Kind of Moments

Standard

Yawn. It’s Monday again, and the start of yet another work week. I’m sitting at my desk feeling uninspired and somewhat morose despite copious amounts of coffee. All of the excitement surrounding my book release has all but dissipated, resulting in a no-sales week. And with all the snow, I couldn’t even get my nephew out this weekend to do anything fun. And now it’s back to the grind. Sigh.

And I’m sitting here at my desk, bored as I’ll get out, thinking, life needs more velociraptor riding a shark while firing a machine gun and holding a lit stick of dynamite kind of moments to keep things interesting.

Don’t you agree?

It’s hard to stay inspired when nothing truly inspirational ever happens. Those brief excursions only fuel us for a little while, leaving us craving more diversion from the daily routine. Too much redundancy is bad for the creative mind, which demands stimulation in order to achieve great works of art.

So, what’s to be done? Well, for starters, don’t except the shark to come crashing through your office window. You’re going to have to go out there and make your own velociraptor-shark moments.

So grab your shark, your machine gun, and your lit stick of dynamite and get out of the house. Go to a local event, register for a contest, take up a new hobby, or ride that shark around your local Walmart–whatever it takes to add a little spice to your work week. I, for one, will be calling my local radio stations and coffee shops this week to see about marketing opportunities for my book. I’ll also be out shopping for St. Patty’s Day decorations since I’m hosting a party this year. If I’m still not amused, I’ll get on the Indiana Comic Con site to psyche myself up for the event. Maybe I should see if any midget wrestlers or Chippendales dancers are coming to Kokomo anytime soon. Whatever I do, it just needs to be at least half as exciting as a velociraptor riding a shark with weapons in both hands.

Hope your week is more exciting than mine. See you again on Wednesday!

25 thoughts on “Life Needs More Velociraptor Riding a Shark While Firing a Machine Gun and Holding a Lit Stick of Dynamite Kind of Moments

  1. I, for one, am tired of the snow. But like you said, you’ve got to get out of your comfort zone and try something new. I do think your shark image reminds me of Sharknado. 🙂 Maybe the next shark attack will happen in your town. It’s a bird, it’s a plane, no it’s a flying shark! RUN FRO YOUR LIVES AND PROTECT YOUR FISH! :p

  2. Im tired of being cold, and having colds – I’ve woken up with another of the blumin things. However the more boring real life is, the more my imagination compensates and the more interesting and weird the stuff I spew into my books becomes… So it’s not all bad. 🙂

    Cheers

    Mtm

    • That’s a neat way to respond to boredom. That’s how it worked for me when I was younger. Growing up surrounded by cornfields I had to escape to la la land. But as an adult my imagination suffers. My excursions have added funny things to my books: geocaching and midget wrestling to name a few. Need to get out more.

Leave a Reply

