INTRODUCING THE LEAGUE OF COMEDY FANTASISTS: Clive Mullis

Standard

Happy Hump Day, everyone! Halfway through the work week! Whoo-hoo! And as promised, I’m bringing you another member of the League of Comedy Fantasists!

?????????????????????????????

Meet Clive Mullis

Today I’m turning the spotlight on Clive Mullis, a talented writer and author of Banker’s Draft, a humorous novel that combines both fantasy and mystery genres into one. Before becoming a writer, Clive worked n the health service as a paramedic until sense and a bad back forced him into retirement. Now Clive’s busier than ever with a part-time job that buys his beer and enables him to spend a little time writing. When he’s not writing, Clive enjoys reading, sports, and spending an hour (or two) at the pub.

Clive lives in the UK in the county of Bedfordshire with his family and dog, Daisy.

His first novel, Banker’s Draft is available on Amazon,Smashwords, and I-tunes.

On with the interview!


Lit Chic: What inspired you to write comedic fantasy?

Clive Mullis: I’ve always liked books which involved a little more than just plot and narrative. Fantasy with a bit of humour gives a lot of leeway to be inventive. You don’t have to conform, but paradoxically you have to be more real.

bankers

Clive’s first novel

Lit Chic: Tell me about your book. What was the inspiration behind it?

Clive Mullis: I was just going to write an historical detective story when a lot of stuff came on the TV about bankers and politicians having sticky fingers and such like. I thought I might like to write something which involved them. Banker’s Draft was born.

Lit Chic: Tell me about your work in progress. When do you anticipate it being done?

Clive Mullis: I’ve nearly finished the first draft of my WIP. Policeman’s Progress is the working title. I hope to be able to get it done within the next two or three months. I’m way behind schedule as things seemed to get in the way. We’re back in Gornstock again and there is another crime for Cornwallis, Frankie and Rose to solve. MacGillicudy has been promoted to Commander and decides to shake the police up a bit. All hell then breaks loose! Can’t wait!

Lit Chic: What made you decide to become a writer? Was it a decision at all?

Clive Mullis: It was boredom. I had finished reading my book at work (I was a paramedic) and had nothing to do. I scrabbled a few bits of paper together and thought I’d give it a go and see what came out. An epic fantasy eventually emerged. I then wrote a YA book which was lost when my computer crashed; I thought I’d backed it up but……!  I was a little bit miffed at that.

Lit Chic: Describe your writing process:

Clive Mullis: Gardener. I just throw a few seeds in and see what grows. I would love to be able to plan, but when I have done that the result bears no resemblance to what I started out meaning to do. Banker’s Draft started out as a plan, but I soon found out that it had a life of its own. So I went with the flow.

Lit Chic: What kinds of books do you like to read? Who are your favorite authors?

Clive Mullis: Like most writers, I have fairly eclectic tastes. Obviously I like a laugh so Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Jasper FForde, Tom Sharpe. Historical too, Patrick O’Brian, Conn Iggulden, Michael Jecks, Bernard Cornwell etc. More serious stuff like Sebastian Faulks, Robert Harris, Conan-Doyle, Dickens, the list goes on and on and on and on and on…. You get the picture.

Lit Chic: What is your favorite part of being in the League of Comedy Fantasists?

Clive Mullis: Getting to know ‘off the wall’ like minded people, like you Kylie. Awe, thank you, Clive:)

Lit Chic: What do you hope to get out of this group?

Clive Mullis: Wealth, fame, slave-like devotion, influence, notoriety, POWER!! Er…sorry, went off on one there! Haha … I did promise those things, didn’t I?

Okay, just for fun!

Lit Chic: Describe yourself in one word:

Clive Mullis: Miserable-old-git works for me. Wait … does that count?

Lit Chic: What is the most random thing you’ve ever done?

Clive Mullis: Joined the Ambulance Service.

Lit Chic: Coffee or tea?

Clive Mullis: It has to be tea. English breakfast tea: a dash of milk and a biscuit to dunk. For some reason I’m not surprised. haha!

Lit Chic: Say you had a time machine … where would you go and what would you do while there—er—then?

Clive Mullis: Eighteenth Century England. I would have to be rich though, couldn’t be doing with all that poor stuff. Landed gentry would be fun, big house, fast carts, lots of fun and frolics, dysentery, cholera, tuberculosis, er…maybe not!

Lit Chic: If you could have one super power what would it be?

Clive Mullis: Make politicians tell the truth. LOL!

Lit Chic: What is your philosophy on life?

Clive Mullis: I don’t do religion in any shape or form, so I’m a realist. (Same here) My dear old dad once said that “if you can’t so someone any good then don’t do them any harm”. That’s good enough for me. Amen to that!

Lit Chic: Any random thoughts at the moment?

Clive Mullis: Where’s the remote?


That’s all! Hope you enjoyed getting to know mah man, Clive. Connect with Clive on WordPress and Twitter. Don’t forget to check out his book on Amazon. And if you think you’d like to become a member of the League of Comedy Fantasists, send me an e-mail at kyliebetzner@gmail.com. We’re an open group that’s somewhat selective but it doesn’t hurt to inquire.

Happy Hump Day, everyone! And don’t forget to stop by on Friday to meet our last member, Jon Brierley!

 

5 thoughts on “INTRODUCING THE LEAGUE OF COMEDY FANTASISTS: Clive Mullis

Leave a Reply

