Introducing the League of Comedy Fantasists: Jon Brierley

Standard

It’s Friday, Friday! I’m so glad it’s Friday! Everybody’s lookin’ forward to the weekend, weekend–okay, okay, I’m done. I apologize to anyone who now has that song stuck in their heads. But today, is in fact Friday, which means it’s time to introduce you to the third and final member of the League of Comedy Fantasists!

Jon

Meet Jon Brierley

Today I’m turning the spotlight on Jon Brierley. What to say about Jon? Hmm. Besides the fact that he’s a voracious reader, and talented writer–mainly of comedic fantasy and parodies–he’s probably the most genuine person I know on social media. He’s honest, friendly, and above all, random. But mostly, he loves to share his friends’ achievements as well as his dinner plans. If you’re not following him on Twitter or WordPress, you should. He’s a good friend.

As far as his writing is concerned, he’s mostly unpublished and very much unpaid. He currently works a day job but hopes to pursue writing as a full-time career. Offers of drink are always acceptable. Dreadful puns at no extra charge.

On with the interview!


Lit Chic: What inspired you to write comedic fantasy?

Jon Brierley: I’ve always written humorous stuff, and I’ve been reading fantasy for forty years, so it kind of came naturally.

Lit Chic: Tell me about your work in progress. When do you anticipate its being done?

Jon Brierley: The Huldrasaga recounts the adventures of a young and not very ept wizard in the far Northlands, who becomes entangled with the Huldrafolk, a tricky not to say thieving bunch of slightly magical beings. There are jokes, a little romance, taxmen and a walrus. It’ll be finished … um … when are the White Sox due to win the World Series again? I’m also working on a rather more serious and less fantastic project, The Aiella Adventures, which is not helping getting anything finished.

Lit Chic: What made you decide to become a writer? Was it a decision at all?

Jon Brierley: Making my English teacher laugh at an essay I wrote made me want to write, and I have, on and off, ever since, but I didn’t start doing it seriously until a friend of mine said I ought to. The jury’s still out on whether they were right or not.

Lit Chic: Describe your writing process:

Jon Brierley: Usually, I stare at a screen for a half an hour and then slope off to find a drink. I write in fits and starts, I’m not methodical, I don’t have a routine. I can go weeks without writing anything at all, and then blurge out stories for days on end, if the fit takes me. I’m not much of a planner, either. I do have a plot outline for the Huldrasaga (well, it’s more of a doily, it’s got that many holes in it) and I keep character and world-building notes, but usually I just forge ahead and see where it takes me. Sometimes I get surprised.

Lit Chic: What kinds of books do you like to read. Who are your favorite authors?

Jon Brierley: I read a lot of history, but fictionally, my favourite authors include but are not limited to J. R. R. Tolkien, P. G. Wodehouse, Evelyn Waugh, John Wyndham, Donald E. Westlake, Terry Pratchett and of course my good friend Isa-Lee Wolf. (and don’t forget yours truly **cough, cough** lol)

Lit Chic: What is your favorite part of being in the League of Comedy Fantasists?

Jon Brierley: You mean apart from the wild Bacchanalian orgies? Oh. Well, in that case, reading other people’s WIP and giving and getting useful feedback.

Lit Chic: What do you hope to get out of this group?

Jon Brierley: Large quantities of untraceable cash Support, friendship, feedback, ideas and jokes I can steal. Awesome!

Just for fun!

Lit Chic: Describe yourself in one word:

Jon Brierley: Lazy.

Lit Chic: Coffee or tea? Coffee.

Jon Brierley: Yes, I am English. Really.

Lit Chic: Say you had a time machine … where would you go and what would you do while there—er—then?

Jon Brierley: I wouldn’t faff about saving the Earth from metal dustbins, I know that much. I’d probably go to 5th century Britain and find out the real story of Arthur of the Britons (I’m guessing giant wooden rabbits aren’t involved).

Lit Chic: If you could have one super power what would it be?

Jon Brierley: The ability to create coherent plots.

Lit Chic: What is your philosophy on life?

Jon Brierley: “Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones.” ― Marcus Aurelius

Lit Chic: Any random thoughts at the moment?

Jon Brierley: The first record of the word ‘book’ in English was in a preface written by King Alfred the Great in about the year 890. That is . . . random. lol


That’s all! Hope you enjoyed getting to know mah man, Jon. Connect with Jon via Twitter and WordPress. And If you wish to join the league, please contact me, Kylie Betzner, at kyliebetzner@gmail.com and include the words “League of Comedy Fantasists” in the regarding line. Members are screened prior to membership and are expected to follow group rules: maintaining a standard team page, promoting other members, and so on and so forth. Thank you for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Introducing the League of Comedy Fantasists: Jon Brierley

Leave a Reply

