Meet the Critics–er–Cats, I Mean.

Standard

Everyone knows writers–especially women writers–rely heavily on cats not only for companionship, but also for critique. Cats make the harshest critics–or at least we think they do–and what great author is complete without one? Please take a moment to meet the fabulous felines who make my writing time an absolute hell!

beefy

He’s my toughest critic

Mr. Beefy aka Cat Critic: By his picture you can probably guess how he earned his name. Six years later it suits him well. Mr. Beefy is a bully and a badass, challenging not only the other cats in the house, but also the dog. He’s not afraid of anyone and demands all the attentions. He’s even been known to steal a fish filet right off the cooking sheet. Of all my cats, he’s my toughest critic. When left alone with a print-off of my writing, he shred it to pieces. I think it’s safe to say he’s not impressed with my work.

beefy 2

He’s not as tough as he looks

Schmooey: My mom named this one. I still have no idea what it means or if it means anything at all. To go back, I would have added a “Sir” to his name to make him more fancy. Schmooey is a sweety pie and a total wimp. When they say “size doesn’t matter” it really doesn’t when it comes to this cat; he lets smaller cats and small children bully him around. As far as critics go, he’s the kindest. Maybe he’s a little too kind.

beefy 3

Don’t let that sweet face fool you

Xena Warrior Princess: Xena for short, she’s the only girl in the house besides the dog, but don’t worry, she holds her own against the boys, oftentimes putting them in their places with one hard smack of the paw. Fully armed with razor sharp claws, this girl is not afraid to tell it like it is. Oftentimes, she lays by the computer and frowns at my poor attempts to write.

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a comment telling me about your own cat critics at home!

3 thoughts on “Meet the Critics–er–Cats, I Mean.

Leave a Reply

