You Should Know This is the Strangest Thing I’ve Ever Done! A Recap on Friday’s … Unusual Author Event

Standard

As a new author, I’ve only attended several actual book signings, including a local author book fair and a book signing at Cook McDoogals. For the most part, these events were pretty standard. Friday’s venue  was probably the most … unusual.

pepperwhistle-sign

It’s jolly good!

Every first Friday of the month, downtown Kokomo sponsors a community event geared towards promoting local businesses, artists, etc. The goal is to build a stronger sense of community and promote the growing downtown area. Last Friday, I hosted a booth outside of Pepperwhistle Bakery and Cafe. Meanwhile a historical group reenacted medieval swordplay in the restaurant’s parking lot–ironic, considering my book centers around knights, sword fights, and quests. LOL. More ironic was that this was not planned; it just sort of happened that we scheduled on the same day.

So was the event successful? I’d say so. I only sold like five books, and one of them was to someone I already knew, but fifty bucks is fifty bucks, and I got my face out there, which is important. I also handed out a good number of business cards and bookmarks containing my information so there’s always the possibility of making a future sale. **Crosses fingers** as I log onto the Kindle Direct Publishing page.

11817210_10105361744797378_706455862802416826_n

Huzzah!

More importantly, the event was a lot of fun. Being next to a medieval acting group made the event worthwhile. I got to learn some new information about weapons and armor and witness some fabulous swordplay. The pictures turned out great! And they invited me to their upcoming Renaissance fair right here in Kokomo Indiana! I know my nephew will want to go … he was trying to get free sword lessons during their demonstration. Might have to enroll him in their school one day … but for now, I think we’ll just stick with dance class;)

11214356_10105361782701418_6066568242269541358_n

Book signings are a great way to gain exposure and meet potential readers!

For those of you who have not hosted a book signing, I strongly encourage you to, despite the meager sales. Nothing beats the feeling of being an author or the thrill of meeting potential new readers. It definitely was a satisfying experience.

Well, that’s all for now. I’m off to Judith Barrow‘s blog to share my experience along with some hilarious pictures!

Happy Monday!

11 thoughts on “You Should Know This is the Strangest Thing I’ve Ever Done! A Recap on Friday’s … Unusual Author Event

  1. armenpogharian

    I’ve always found book signings to be a hit or miss proposition – at least as far as actual sales of books. If you need more than one hand to count your sales I’d consider that a success. Meeting potential readers and interacting with the public as a published author is a real rush for me. Selling a complete set of the Misaligned series to a HS English teacher doesn’t hurt.

  2. How wonderful that you all finished up in the same place. And as for the sales – it is always hit and miss. I’ve been to events where I’ve chatted to over a hundre people – and others with a handful. It will be your smile, bookmarks and cards that get you remembered. Thanks for joining in with my post.Jx

Leave a Reply

