Enjoying My Time in Narnia as the Unicorn in The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe

Standard

After nearly two month’s of rehearsals, the show finally opened on Thursday, October 1st with dinner theater. With four shows behind me and only two more to go, I’d like to share my reflections on my visit to Narnia and community theater in general.

CQlG3i_U8AAEofi

All hail Aslan!

First off, the reason I got into this play was because I loved theater so much in high school. I performed in major supporting roles all four years. It was something my sister and I really enjoyed. So, I thought it would be sort of endearing to continue that family tradition with my nephew, Rylee, who played a squirrel. The second reason I got into this play was because the director was a former student of mine and I wanted to help him succeed. What can I say? I’m a softy when it comes to my kiddos.

12049665_10105548262000408_6382495431625608541_n

So sparkly!

Overall, the experience was a lot of fun. Getting to play a mythological creature and create the costume by hand was a treat. Helping my sister build her centaur costume was … not as fun. Let’s just say we emptied a bottle or two of aspirin during the process. Seeing my sister’s costume come together, with the help of other cast members, was rewarding. I can’t wait for her to show it off at Kokomo-con this year!

CQlBFXjUEAA1yx_

The CENTAUR of attention;)

Some of the downfalls of community theater are small audiences, small town politics, and drama! Oh, the drama! But seeing my nephew enjoying the play and making friends made it all worthwhile, plus this gave my sister and I an excuse to build a cool costume for cosplay conventions.

Anyway, I hope you’ve enjoyed my pictures from Narnia. I’ve enjoyed the stay. At this point, I’m looking forward to returning to the real world and resuming my life as a writer.

(If you’re interested in building your own walking centaur costume my sister will be posting instructions with images and material suggestions on her blog Write of Passage).

4 thoughts on “Enjoying My Time in Narnia as the Unicorn in The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

