The Happy Holiday Atheist Elf

Standard

It’s the most wonderful time of the year, especially for those who celebrate Christmas, Kwanzaa, or Hanukkah. But what about atheist like me?  What joy do we get out of the holiday season?

Personally, I enjoy the decorations, the music, the food, and the shopping. I love buying gifts and opening gifts. More than that, I love wrapping gifts! Most of all, I enjoy hosting the holiday at my house.

When I was a child, and undecided about my philosophical views, I enjoyed the traditions of the season such as decorating the tree, shaking presents, and watching Christmas movies. Some of my fondest childhood memories are of sipping hot chocolate with marshmallows after playing in the snow and decorating gingerbread men with my siblings. As an aunt, I’ve tried to replicate some of those experiences for my nephew by taking him to see the lights and showing him movies from my childhood.

ccc1One of my favorites is Will VInton’s A Claymation Christmas Celebration, a Christmas television special that originally broadcasted on CBS the year after I was born. The special featured stop motion clay animation and debuted alongside my other animated favorite, A Garfield Christmas. Watching these films with my mom and sister fills me with nostalgia and it’s nice to see my nephew appreciate them, too. Hopefully, when he’s an adult they’ll be a source of nostalgia for him as well.

I guess my point is no matter what you believe (or don’t believe) the holidays are an awesome time for everyone to share.

So don’t be a Scrooge, not when you can be Buddy from ELF. At least settle for Clark Griswold; at least he’s trying. Haha!

Have a happy holiday season, everyone!

7 thoughts on “The Happy Holiday Atheist Elf

    • I simply want to tell you that I’m newbie to blogging and really liked you’re page. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your site . You definitely have exceptional articles. Thanks for sharing your web pab;&&nbspe&ngsp;.nbsp; 

  1. I’ve been watching a ton of old Christmas cartoon specials with my kids, too. It’s fun, and they like them. It’s a great tradition. It’s been a while since I’ve seen the Garfield one. I’ll have to look that up again. Hope you and Toni and your family have a wonderful holiday!

Leave a Reply

